Top Nav

Information Systems

  • Heading

    ARE YOU READY FOR A JOB IN

    INFORMATION SYSTEMS?
    Associate in Applied Science Degree (AAS)
    Certificate of Proficiency (CP)
    Certificate of Specialization (CS)
  • Overview

    overview-heading

    Associate in Applied Science

    Certificate of Proficiency

    Certificate of Specialization

    These programs prepare students for careers in the fast-changing world of information systems. Students will learn how to design, develop, use and manage the information technology infrastructure increasingly relied upon by business organizations, governmental agencies and institutions of all kinds. Students will learn to design and implement computer-based solutions to provide the information organizations need to accomplish their goals. Each of the certificate programs gives students a chance to enhance their skills, use current technology and practice a particular aspect of the information systems field.

    Jobs in the field include computer support specialists, computer programmers, systems analysts, network administrators and help desk technicians.

    According to the Missouri Economic and Research Information Center, half of the 10 fastest-growing occupations in Missouri, 2004-2014, are IT-related careers. The U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics predicts computer analyst employment to increase much faster than average as organizations continue to depend upon and purchase complex technologies.

    Persons interested in information systems should possess:
    Strong problem-solving and analytical skills

    • Ability to think logically and pay close attention to details
    • Ability to work with abstract concepts and perform technical analysis
    • Strong interpersonal and communication skills

    With funding from the state of Missouri’s Regional Technical Education Council, Centers of Excellence were established in the late 1990s to provide advanced technology training on state-of-the-art equipment for high-wage jobs in high-demand occupations.

    The Center for Emerging and Advanced Information Technolgies, located on the Forest Park campus, specializes in skills-driven, hands-on IT training.

    Center for Emerging and Advanced Information Technologies
    Cisco Networking Academy

  • Career Opportunities

    divider-career-opportunities

    Job Resources

    • For information on the job outlook in the information systems field, visit the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and search specific job titles. Also available: information on median pay, entry-level education, number of jobs and more.
    • For specific real-time information on wages and job prospects in the STLCC region, visit STLCC Career Coach.
  • Faculty

    divider-faculty

    Stacy Gee Hollins
    Program Coordinator
    Phone: 314-513-4556
    shollins4@stlcc.edu

    Tom Cupples
    Program Coordinator
    Phone: 314-513-4631
    tgcupples@stlcc.edu

    Robert Palank, Ph.D.
    Phone: 314-513-4838
    rpalank@stlcc.edu

    Gustav Adamecz
    Phone: 314-644-9296
    gadamecz@stlcc.edu

    Abdelouahab Amor
    Phone: 314-644-9609
    aamor@stlcc.edu

    Janet Ayres
    Phone: 314-644-9960
    jayres17@stlcc.edu

    Paul Daniel
    Phone: 314-644-9762
    pdaniel@stlcc.edu

    Terri Grote
    Phone: 314-644-9078
    tgrote@stlcc.edu

    Brenda Kahan
    Phone: 314-644-9229
    bkahan@stlcc.edu

    Patricia Sherman
    Phone: 314-644-9917
    psherman@stlcc.edu

    Craig Chott
    Phone: 314-984-7276
    E-Mail: cchott@stlcc.edu

    Tom Cupples, Ed.D.
    Phone: 314-984-7524
    E-Mail: tgcupples@stlcc.edu

    Margaret M. Hvatum
    Phone: 314-984-7518
    E-Mail: mhvatum@stlcc.edu

    June Mercer
    Phone: 314-984-7531
    E-Mail: jmercer@stlcc.edu

    Bob Miller
    Phone: 314-984-7531
    E-Mail: jmercer@stlcc.edu

    Gary Sibbitts
    Phone: 314-984-7517
    E-Mail: gsibbitts@stlcc.edu

    Donna Babbitt
    Phone: 636-422-2206
    E-mail: dbabbitt@stlcc.edu

  • Additional Information

    divider-additional-information

    Location

    The Information Systems program is offered at our Florissant Valley, Forest Park and Meramec campuses. Students make take general education classes toward this degree at any of our four campuses, our five eduction centers, and online.

     

    Back to the top

print this page